WGVA 106.3FM 1240AMMix 98.5101.7 The WallWFLR Finger Lakes Country Classic Hits 99.3The Lake 100.1/104.5 WAUB 96.3FM 1590AM

Hochul Attends Reproductive Freedom Alliance in California


Governor Kathy Hochul is in California where she, and a nonpartisan coalition of governors, committed to protecting and expanding access to reproductive health care in their states.

The Reproductive Freedom Alliance held its inaugural governor-level convening Tuesday in Los Angeles. Attending governors shared progress and best practices in their states and reaffirmed their commitment to working together to build a firewall for reproductive freedom in the wake of Roe v Wade being overturned last summer. The governors also received a briefing from reproductive health care providers from around the country – both access states and states with restrictions – about new challenges and barriers to care millions of people are now facing in the year since the U.S. Supreme Court overturned the constitutional right to abortion.

Governor Kathy Hochul:

“With the Statue of Liberty in our harbor, New York will always stand tall as a safe harbor for those who need abortion care. We’ve taken significant steps since the Dobbs decision to protect reproductive rights in New York — from passing new laws protecting patients and doctors to investing more than $30 million in a new Abortion Provider Support Fund. Together with my fellow pro-choice governors, I’m committed to doing everything in my power to ensure women across America have improved access to safe, legal abortion care.”

The Reproductive Freedom Alliance is a non-partisan coalition of Governors committed to protecting and expanding access to reproductive care. Members include Arizona Governor Katie Hobbs, California Governor Gavin Newsom, Colorado Governor Jared Polis, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont, Delaware Governor John Carney, Guam Governor Lou Leon Guerrero, Hawai’i Governor Josh Green, Illinois Governor JB Pritzker, Maine Governor Janet Mills, Maryland Governor Wes Moore, Massachusetts Governor Maura Healey, Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer, Minnesota Governor Tim Walz, New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy, New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham, New York Governor Kathy Hochul, North Carolina Governor Roy Cooper, Oregon Governor Tina Kotek, Pennsylvania Governor Josh Shapiro, Rhode Island Governor Daniel McKee, Washington Governor Jay Inslee, and Wisconsin Governor Tony Evers.

Get the top stories on your radio 24/7 on Finger Lakes News Radio 96.3 and 1590, WAUB and 106.3 and 1240, WGVA, and on Finger Lakes Country, 96.1/96.9/101.9/1570 WFLR.