Six Villages To Hold Elections

Six villages in Ontario, Seneca and Yates Counties hold elections tomorrow.

The races feature a three-way race for mayor in Interlaken.  A contested race for two Ovid trustee seat.  A write - in campaign in the Waterloo trustees race.  In Lodi,  two trustees are running unopposed. 

In Clifton Springs two trustees are runing unopposed. 

In Dresden the Mayor is not seeking reelection, the only candidate for the job is a write-in candidate.

Here are the details:

Seneca County -

Longtime incumbent Interlaken Mayor William Larsen, in office since 1984, being challenged by Trustee Keith Jay and Village Historian and Deputy Village Clerk Diane Bassette Nelson.

The election for two, four-year terms as village trustee will be uncontested. Jay is giving up his trustee seat to run for mayor. The candidates are incumbent Christopher Kempf, a trustee since 2010, and newcomer Kelly VanRiper, who is running for Jay’s seat.

Voting will be noon to 9 p.m. at the Village Hall at 8369 Main St.

Waterloo Village Republicans failed to field any candidates for the two trustee seats up for election. The seats are held by Democrats David Duprey and Gina Suffredini.  Robert McGill had his independent petitions challenged and the county Board of Elections agreed he did not have enough valid signatures for an independent line on the ballot. McGill is mounting a write-in campaign.

Voting will be from noon to 9 p.m. at the Fire Department, 39 E. Water St.

The Ovid mayoral race is uncontested and there are four candidates running for two trustee seats. Mayor David Terry Sr. is running unopposed.

Seeking the two, four-year trustee seats are incumbent Robert Stapleton and challengers June Favreau, Francis Hoaglan and Mary Ose. Incumbent Paul McPherson is not seeking re-election.

Voting will be noon to 9 p.m. in the village office/fire hall at 2136 Brown St.

Lodi has an uncontested race for two trustee seats.

The candidates are incumbent Martin David and Michael Huff.

Voting is from noon to 8 p.m. in the village offices at 8455 N. Main St.

 Ontario County -

In Clifton Springs, Incumbent trustees Melissa Kumkey, a Republican, and Dan Blondell, an independent, are seeking re-election. They are running unopposed in their bids for another four-year term.

Voting is scheduled for noon to 9 p.m. at the 39 Kendall St. fire hall.

Yates County -

The village of Dresden has an election for mayor and a trustee seat.

Mayor Joe Gibson is not seeking re-election. The only candidate for mayor is write-in candidate Bill Hall, a current trustee.

Incumbent trustee Dan Egburtson is also not seeking re-election. Running unopposed for his seat is Michael Snyder. Running for Hall’s seat is Darlene Conley.

Voting will be from noon to 9 p.m. at the Village Hall, 3 Firehouse Ave.



comments powered by Disqus
Local Weather
Geneva, NY
Keyword Search
Geneva Office:
3568 Lenox Rd.
Geneva, NY 14456
(315) 781-7000
News fax (315) 781-7077
Auburn Office:
5998 Experimental Rd.
Auburn, NY 13021
(315) 258-0937
Dundee/Penn Yan office:
30 Main St.
Dundee, NY 14837
(607) 243-7158
Canandaigua Office:
3070 County Road 10
Canandaigua,NY 14424
(585) 394-1550
Copyright © 2017 Finger Lakes Daily News | EEO Report | Contest Rules | Contact
Site Designed by
RSS Feeds