September 2016
James McConkey: Courting Memory, A 95th Birthday Celebration
4:30 PM - 5:30 PM

The Cornell Department of English Creative Writing Program launches the Fall 2016 Barbara & David Zalaznick Reading Series with a celebration of the life and work of Goldwin Smith Professor of English Literature Emeritus James McConkey on the occasion of his 95th birthday. In tribute to McConkey, three of his award-winning former students will read from their own works in his honor: Diane Ackerman, Gilbert Allen, and A. Manette Ansay.

For more information:
Events Coordinator
(607) 255-7847
Healthy and Active Aging
5:30 PM - 6:30 PM

We all grow older, but it's up to each of us to do what we can to stay vibrant and vital.  Join Becky Bennett-Tears and Ashley Tillman for a presentation on healthy and active aging, including preventative care, transportation services to promote active living, wellness programs, and nutrition.  This event is free and open to all, and is made possible by our friends at the Office for the Aging!

For more information:
Alex Andrasik
(315) 536-6114
Treasure Island
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

TREASURE ISLAND, A New Musical

A modern, compelling look at the classic adventure…

In 2008, Wall Street told a story of greed, corruption and betrayal.  In 1883, Robert Louis Stevenson told the same story.  This is a new take on the classic tale – a high-stakes adventure for adults and children alike.  TREASURE ISLAND re-examines the essence of heroism, the journey to maturity and the strength of the human spirit in the face of extreme conditions.

Rating:  PG

 

Wednesday Aug. 24; 7:30 p.m.
Thursday Aug. 25; 7:30 p.m.
Friday Aug. 26; 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Saturday Aug. 27; 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Monday Aug. 29; 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday Aug. 30; 2 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday Aug. 31; 2 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
Thursday Sept. 1; 7:30 p.m.
Friday Sept. 2; 8 p.m.
Saturday Sept. 3; 8 p.m.
Monday Sept. 5; 2 p.m.
Tuesday Sept. 6; 2 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday Sept. 7; 2 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
Thursday Sept. 8; 7:30 p.m.
Friday Sept. 9; 8 p.m.
Saturday Sept. 10; 8 p.m.

For more information:
Kirsten Vine
(315) 255-1785